The Hand That Rocks The Cradle


She calls me “Morola”
I think of her as “Olu”
OLU…
With love she held me that day
The first fruit of her womb
And she never stopped holding me
With her prayers and her words
Who can find a virtuous woman? Her price is far above rubies
Who can find an Olu like mine? She is one of a kind
It took us years to understand each other
But when we finally did,
I found in her a sister, a friend and a soul-mate
Many speak about how their mothers are the best
I won’t argue with them
But I know that if they had my Olu for a mother, they wouldn’t ask for any other
She has set an exemplary example that persistence and patience pay off at the end
Olu,
I can never thank you enough for all you are to me
And for all you’ve given me
Thank you for marrying Ayorinde(Snr.), I couldn’t have asked for a better father
Thank you for Ayorinde (Jnr.), he’s my joy and my pride
Thank you for having a wonderful relationship with all your siblings, they’re the best extended family God could ever bless a girl with
Thank you for all the doors you opened to me
Thank you for doing a wonderful job
And for not failing in your assignment
Thank you OLU
For loving me even when I didn’t deserve your love
And for making me who I am today
My OLU, but I call you “Mummy”
Ayomide is what you named me
I pray that I always gladden your heart with great joy.
“The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world.”

8 Comments Add yours

  1. omotooke says:

    My mum is d best mum…… Mine! Mine!! Mine!!! Ok, ok!!! Beautiful

  2. Sogaolu Ayodeji says:

    if i say i didn’t see this coming then I’m’ a liar… A proud mum she must be after reading this and finally I add that “I thank OLU for Rolayo as you have been #wordshavefailedtoqualifyou#
    Good job

  3. Rolayo! !!!
    I like dis.

  4. Nimi says:

    Very heartfelt! Oh…u wrote this on my mom’s birthday. My mom is….more than words can say.

  5. amplebrain says:

    And Thank you for giving us Rolayo

  6. ranchosblog says:

    All of you are jonzing ( ˘˘̯). My mum is the best of the lot. Happy birthday, Rolayo’s mum.

Leave a Reply

