My Medical Family


Sometimes I wonder how we all got thrown together

Maybe RBCF did a bit, but I believe GOD had a plan

You know I love you guys right?

And I’m not saying it cause its a cliché or because I want you to hear it

I actually mean it

I’m not a perfect person, in fact I’m not close to being perfect

And a lot of times, I wonder why I was the “chosen one”

Why  can’t I just stroll into discussions any day at any time and apologise to either Sanmi or Akin for coming late?

I wish I could just take the back seat and not worry about what topic we have to take or who isn’t around and why

Many times I wish for a lot of things

But I’m grateful for much more

I always say I’m the least qualified to be in my position

And in all ramifications, I still think so

But, you guys have made me feel over-qualified

I think now I believe in the saying

“God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called”

From GT’s annoying but honest jokes to Tam-tam’s adorable dimples

We always find a way to learn despite our almost-always-unserious-atmosphere

We’ve built a friendship that extends beyond the walls of our classroom

We’ve shared timeless memories right from Laolu’s birthday in 200level to A&E when my Grandma was brought it

We said bye-bye to Tobi in our own special way

And GT wormed his way into our hearts

We hugged Sanmi with her greasy hair, and admired her new look

We cheered Kemi on as she finally brought home the Super Bowl trophy

We’ve built memories without even knowing it

“Mumsy mi to dun” “Man with the eyes” “Anike” “Minini”

Nicknames that’ll never grow old

I could go on and on

I’m grateful for the days we’ve shared

But I’m more grateful because I know that better days are yet to come

Thank you for accepting me with all my flaws

And for loving me regardless

Thank you for making me a better person- academically, spiritually and morally

Laolu: Our very own Popsy! Sometimes he could really get on my nerves, but most times, he’s a diamond in the rough. Thank you for always saving the day and for saving my face a lot of times.

Ore: MUMSY!!!! Prayerful, courteous, and adorable. A true friend. *wiping tear* I could write an epistle but I won’t. Let me just say thank you for everything and for many more things to come.

Nimi: She’s tough. She doesn’t mince words, she just says it as it comes. She’ll never pretend that she understands when she doesn’t and she won’t give any excuse for her actions. My personal person, we have more in common than we admit to have. Thanks for seeing me at my best and worst and still sticking with me. By the way, what happened to our prayer meetings?

Sanmi: Miss”EMO”! I don’t think I’ll ever meet any one more emotional than you or more passionate about thing. And your colour co-ordination!!!! Orange from up to down, lemon green to the scarf…( don’t kill me when you read this).

Kemi: My personal favourite when it comes to taking tutorials. You would make a wonderful professor, your oratory skills are brilliant and they will definitely take you places dear.

Doyin: Tough exterior, soft interior. With the type of front that she always puts up, one would wonder how she has friends, but when you get to know her… words can’t do justice to the great and talented personality inside.

Tamilore: I’m still looking for somebody who can ever hold a grudge against you. You are sooooo LOVEABLE and sweet too. If the world had more people like you, soldiers would be out of jobs, and I mean that.

Morakinyo: Can I talk about you without being biased? I don’t think so. So I’ll just keep it simple, you mean a lot to me. I don’t think if you had the choice,you would pick my kind of person as a friend, but I don’t think you are regretting your decision (at least I hope not).

Akin: I love your laugh. Our very own TDH! You’re wonderful without even knowing it.

GT: You call yourself “blessed mouth”, I don’t think it does enough justice to who you are. You walked into our lives(or our discussion group) and changed everything. Your our big brother, the one guy we love to hate.

Words can’t do justice to what I feel inside

I love you guys, and yes, I know I said it before

Thank you for being the best friends anyone could ever ask for in medical school

I pray our friendship continues to wax stronger and stronger

xoxo

13 Comments Add yours

  1. aww…this is so touching. Great Job! miss Williams

  2. Oreoluwa says:

    Awwww, this Ȋ̝̊̅§ so sweet. It’s been wonderful knowing U̶̲̥̅̊ too babes, U̶̲̥̅̊’ve been a very special friend to ♍ƺ n like a big sister to the rest of the family. L♥√ع U̶̲̥̅̊ big dearie

  3. sanmi says:

    Awww. . Rolly. .couldn’t have believed we’d be sisters the first time i saw you. .buh i can’t stop thanking GƠ̴̴̴̴͡D̶̲̥̅̊ now for the plan He had in view. .(right from physiology remember. .). . i L♥√ع U̶̲̥̅̊ much. .mwah;

  4. blessedmouth says:

    And i’m d last on the list again……no wonder tutorial was fixed on a day i wont be available. Abt d writer, silence is golden…..me? jst passin thru. *tsk tsk*

  5. Nimi says:

    We love you too!

  6. Tinuola says:

    Pass the tissue…..
    *Blows big red nose (if that were possible for a black person)

  7. Nimi says:

    *wipes tears* *blows nose*
    *sigh* I’m so emosh right now. Rolayo, warn yourself o. Be making a gangster all mushy & shi. Thanks for being a friend, we love your sweet & overreacting self so much. Xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

    1. LMAO! NIMI o! Pls when did you become gangster? Thanx all the same! Love u plenty

  8. Doyin says:

    Aaaawwwwwww!!!! This is too TOUCHING, SWEET & LOVELY!
    Love you too! I know we have friction sometimes, guess its the love! Hahaha!!!!
    I’m really lost for words! x_x
    God bless you mehn!!!!!!!! ❤ ❤

  9. Doyin says:

    Aaaawwwwwww!!!! This is too TOUCHING, SWEET & LOVELY!
    Love you too!!!!
    I’m really lost for words! x_x
    God bless you dear!!!!!!!! ❤ ❤

  10. tamilore says:

    Awwwwwww, love u too rolly!

  11. Sure u can talk bout me without being bias, it’s not lyk we’re close or anything.. lol..
    U know i cherish our friendship now n i can never regret having u as a friend…
    U’re one of d very few pple that understand me..
    As a matter of fact, 2k11 wouldn’t be complete without u..
    LUV U PLENTY!!!!!!……..!!!!!

    1. UH…. *blush blush* thanks dear

Leave a Reply

