The Grace


Hello people!
Here I am again with a special message from my heart. Not a story or a poem, just a lil’ something I thought I should share.
Enjoy! 🙂

2nd Corinthians 13:14
Before you start flipping through the pages of your digital Bible, allow me to quote it( yeah, I make things easy)
 “The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Ghost, be with you all. Amen.”
You see! It’s a scripture we all know, but many of us don’t even know where it’s found in the Bible. We even have some additional phrases like “now and forever more” etc.

The Grace is a powerful prayer that Paul said for the Corinthians when he was ending his second letter to them. Many churches have adopted it as a closing to their prayers and also services.
We recite it a lot, many times not taking heed to the words we say.
Allow me to share my own insight of this verse.

1. The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ: I personally have heard a lot about the grace. This grace that saved me, this grace that ransomed my soul and brought me back to the throne of mercy and now I’m seated at the right hand of God with Christ Jesus in heavenly places.
Everything I need, his grace has provided. Everything I am is because of His grace.
2 Corinthians 12:9- “My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.”
1st Corinthians 15:10- But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.
Everything that I need to survive spiritually, financially, academically and in every sphere I can find in this grace. It’s like a travelling box that someone packed up for me. Someone who has seen my future, and knows everything I’ll need to live. From my toothbrush to those polka-dotted shoes for that business meeting, its all in there. Signed, sealed, delivered.

2. The love of God- This LOVE. Agape love. Love so great He sent his son to die for me(John 3:16). Romans 8:35 tells me that nothing can separate me from the love of Christ. “Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean he no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or hungry, or destitute, or in danger, or threatened with death?”
I’m still searching for a love that’ll surpass this love. If you find, please be kind enough to let me know.

3. The communion of the Holy Ghost: Some versions say “the fellowship of the Holy Ghost”. In my words, “constant communication with the Holy Ghost”. The Holy Ghost follows me everywhere I go. He helps me make my decisions and I give Him first place. I let Him take over my thoughts and renew my mind. I make him “The Boss”.John 14:16-17 tells me who the Holy Spirit is to me: “And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Intercessor, Advocate, Strengthener, and Standby), that He may remain with you forever. The Spirit of Truth…”
I have all these in one person!

Put it all together in a mixing bowl, add a pinch of faith as seasoning and what do we have?
A good dose of heavenly blessings, one from each person of the Holy Trinity. More than enough to see me through each day and for the rest of my life.
So next time you say the grace after a prayer, think on every word and say it like you believe it. It’s God’s Word, it works.
I’ll leave you with the Message’s translation of The Grace.
“The amazing grace of the Master, Jesus Christ, the extravagant love of God, the intimate friendship of the Holy Spirit, be with all of you.”

Xoxo
P.S.: Please be kind enough to leave your thoughts. Gracias.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. luvdayo says:

    Good! Eye opening, heart warming!

  2. vese says:

    Lovely!! I like the way you take a verse, break it down, and make it very real ..”From my toothbrush to those polka-dotted heels”…

  3. folahanlash says:

    Glory to God! Wow! This is inspiring, a piece that shud be read over and over till it sinks into ur spirit. I think wen u read this, u wud ‘share the grace’ with more gusto next time. The unmerited favor produced by our Lord, Jesus Christ, the unexplanable love of God, our Father, and the special relationship with the Holy Spirit be with us all. Amen

  4. olayinkam says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing, it’s a timely reminder of what God has made available to us.
    Pauls testimony in 1 Cor 15:10 “…and His grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain…” lingers on my mind. It’s up to me to determine the extent of these blessings I get to experience.
    Paul said he laboured more than them all…and he enjoyed the benefits of the blessing more than them all.
    Making it a consious effort to apply ourselves to knowing the grace of Jesus Christ, the love of God and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit will ensure that we benefit the most from the blessings.

  5. sleekgirl101 says:

    Thanks for the insight!

  6. Ayo Oluleye says:

    Wow!!! Brilliant!

  7. noYeats says:

    “Signed, sealed, delivered” I love that.
    Notice something else? In most bibles, the “be” is in italics, meaning that word isn’t in the original translation. Paul isn’t actually praying to God to give the Corinthians grace, he’s telling them what they already have in God.
    More appropriately rendered: “The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the communion of the Holy Ghost, with you all.”
    Read that with your wonderful dissection and you have a pretty complete picture of the life of a believer. Glorious!

  8. bigggboyega says:

    good piece, also meditated on dz same verse 2days ago! When you have direct access to the holy trinity ‘God the father, the son (jesus) and the holy spirit’ then u wl nt jst be blessed bt also a blessing to others. The grace of jesus christ abounds for us even much more than we can imagine(rom 5.20)
    , and we also know that GOD is love! And a daily fellowship with the holy spirit will aleays make our day a perfect one!

  9. It’s soooooo ridiculous how for the past 2 weeks I had actually taken time to wonder if the prayer of grace I say everyday was actually in the bible or not…then I stumble on this. God bless you

  10. adewuyi adeola says:

    Like dis blog

  11. Bimpe Modder says:

    Lovely post Niece.
    Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

