Stepping Stone


Hi People!!!
This poem was given to me by someone who in a few days has become really dear to me, my neighbour- Emmanuel Olawoye. I really liked it and I thought I should share(unedited), with his permission of course. I’ve never gotten how people make their poems rhyme though, lot of work and talent if you ask me.
Enjoy and please leave your comments.
*******************************

STEPPING STONE
In this dark corner I lay
Watching my memories replay
Yesterday’s basic plan
Decisions that made me this man
Goals that fear consumed
Dreams that never came true
Wasted Ambitions
Devoured Intuitions
Then I stop to wonder…

…It’s all because of “me”
I’m my own enemy
For too long I’ve laid back
Ruled by what people say
For too long I’ve laid in the dark
Watched as fear led the way
But this moment I’m breaking free
I’m breaking the grip failure has on me
Stepping out of my comfort zone
To the realm of the unknown
Set to paint a better picture
Headed to a brighter future
Every hurt a seed sown
Every obstacle a stepping stone.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. ranchosblog says:

    Babalawo writes? Wow. And he writes so well. I see someone enjoyed her Neighbours’ Week. The message got to me. I’m stepping out of my comfort zone, and I’m leaving my regrets (thankfully, they are few) behind. I already don’t care what people say, so that part is easy. YOLO, so why let others determine how u live your life? You don’t get another one, do you?

  2. Tinuola says:

    Lovely poem!

  3. Dare says:

    Very nice……didn’t know Emmanuel was given to things like this. Thumbs up

  4. HimHer says:

    Wow…so Emmanuel wrote this…i’m suprised

    1. And he is trying to be humble o!
      Evryone please meet the writer of this wonderful piece- Emmanuel or HimHer as he likes to be called.

  5. proteus92 says:

    This was pretty good. His wordplay could be better though. Good stuff.

  6. Samajeez says:

    I have tots like that too. But can’t put them in words like that. It’s beautiful. Neighbourly thing. Shout out to my neighbour Folusho Olasope :*

  7. luvdayo says:

    Wow heartfelt thumbs up

  8. doyin says:

    Amen somebody!
    I usually don’t understand poems but I love this! Makes sense! Lovely!!!

  9. Himher says:

    Awwww…nw u guys r gonna make me cry ;(

  10. folahanlash says:

    Beautiful write-up. I love rhymes. And d meaning also. My brother, u can do all things, u just need Christ to infuse inner strength into u. Nothing should limit you. And U can write more of this. Good work

  11. ronnieotega says:

    Nice! I especially loved the last two lines,
    “Every hurt a seed sown
    Every obstacle a stepping stone.”

  12. opefasanya says:

    Reblogged this on the Reluctant Geek and commented:
    this reminds me of something i once wrote and a person i seem to be morphing into. Lovely write up…

  13. Oreoluwa says:

    Wow! This is really cool. Proud of you dude. “Every hurt a seed sown; every obstacle a stepping stone”, hmmm.

  14. Terdoh says:

    You go girl!
    I…I mean boy.
    ._.

Leave a Reply

