My Best Friend


I’ve never gotten the hype of sleeping during the rain
Not now, not ever
And definitely not this evening
Not with him lying in my bed
The one guy I wanted with all my heart, but I just couldn’t have
He had dozed off after eating the sumptuous meal I prepared for him
He loved my cooking
He said that was one of the ways I was better than her
Apart from my eloquence and versatility
He said he just needed to know if I was better in bed
One place I wasn’t going to with him
Not now, not until I have his heart completely

He’s in love with her
Even though I was the linking chain
You know when you’ve always secretly hoped that your best friend falls in love with you, and then he goes and falls for your other best friend,
And every time they look into each other’s eyes with dreamy stares,you wish they were a photograph that you could tear in half?
I’m the third-wheel
The one who always spoils the party
The one who sits at the back of the car twiddling my thumbs while they share private jokes

I’m the girl he runs to when they have arguments
The one who plays with his hair while he sleeps off with his head on my laps
The one he’s on the phone chatting with for the better part of the day
She goes for all the social gatherings
I get the Friday-night outings
She bears the title
I get the job
He said he wishes he fell in love with me first
And he doesn’t know what blinded him all these years
But he doesn’t want to make things complicated
He can’t bear the thought of breaking her heart
And she was my best friend, remember?
I’ll rather have a part of him than not have him at all
I’ll remain “The Side-Chick”

I’m standing here at their engagement party
All the “Ooh” and “Ah”-s have been said
She’s wearing the prettiest ruby-studded ring
I can’t help but imagine how perfectly it’d have fit on my left ring finger
I’m about to give a toast
As the best friend
The one who made it all happen
My last chance to make it count
I swirl my red wine in my glass
Trying to settle the war going on in my head
To spill or not to spill?
All eyes are on me
I clear my throat as I begin
“Ladies and Gentlemen…”

23 Comments Add yours

  1. devone07 says:

    Leaving us hanging….isn’t nice lol. Once again ur signature writing style is evident..nice work..

  2. ranchosblog says:

    Ghen……
    Enough said. The poem/story says it all. Ehm, and hope maketh not ashamed. Keep hoping.

  3. Reptile says:

    First of all, this is a brilliant take on a deep return to the root of a problem before facing it head-on.
    I think and more words might just dim the shine of your work worse than what I’ve said already.
    *golf-clap*
    Well done. The suspense is well placed at the end.

  4. vixenpixie says:

    *heart still thumping*

  5. Oluwatoyin says:

    Nice Roli baby! How is school work? Takia

  6. essoak says:

    I’m sure dat’s not d end…*eyelashes*

  7. GranmaLuwie says:

    *sigh emotional jagajaga…
    Lovely write up…

  8. edgothboy says:

    Poor girl, that’s like a worst case scenario. Brutal.

  9. ti says:

    Suspense came in too early. Nice piece though

  10. dapo says:

    Ds is rly nyc and true about hw sm ppl feel,I believe u’ll hlp dem thru wt d wy u end of d stry,bt dnt kp us hanging
    4 lng

  11. adebayor says:

    Dis is lovely!!!

  12. amos says:

    rolayo wat is dis,u left us in suspense,dis is 2much,jst wen my interest rose….greatjob,but pls part 2 asap

  13. Effie says:

    Amazing… as always!

  14. Bimpe Modder says:

    Good piece of writing, Keep at it

  15. dapo says:

    Ds is rly nyc and true about hw sm ppl feel,I believe u’ll hlp dem thru wt d wy u end of d stry,bt dnt kp us hanging
    4 lng

  16. dapo says:

    Ds is rly nyc and true about hw sm ppl feel,I believe u’ll hlp dem wt d wy u end of d stry,bt dnt kp us hanging
    4 lng

  17. rolayo, simply out, this is out-of-this-world fabulous. the finish was brilliant! well done.

  18. tosinOI says:

    I didn’t want it to end 😦
    Nicely written, one could feel the emotions in the story.

    (Y) to the writer

  19. tosinOI says:

    My best line

    “She gets the title, I get the job”

  20. moi says:

    Not bad…lol. Liked it. And u know tht means alot, Mo. Jokes apart, …ku$e

  21. ranchosblog says:

    Re-reading this. It’s one of my favourites on your blog.

    ‘And every time they look into each
    other’s eyes with dreamy stares,you
    wish they were a photograph that
    you could tear in half?’

    (-̩̩̩⌣́_⌣̀-̩̩̩)

    Where do you get your lines from? Some heartstring tugging things this afternoon.

    Sigh.

  22. Tchemi says:

    Leaving a brown hanging. Awesome. Good work..

Leave a Reply

