FRIENDS


Friends Forever- Vitamin C
“As we go on, we remember
All the times we had together
As our lives change come whatever
We would still be friends forever”

Ok… Tonight I walked down memory lane with my mum. She was reading my blog and I showed her posts written by a special friend of mine. It got me all soft inside and also I realised the quality of friends I have.
So I’m gonna take this chance to appreciate some ladies who mean a lot to me. I won’t mention names so please feel free to catch your sub. 🙂

Of all the friends I have around now, I guess I can call you the oldest. I’m guilty of that, I can’t keep friends for a long time. Forgive me, but honestly I try. I’ve always called you my most dependable friend, cause I know I can count on you and you’ll deliver. I can’t say the same about myself though. You’ve kept this friendship and yes, I know we’ve had better days. I can’t promise we’ll get those days back cause it looks like we’ve both found replacements one way or the other, but I can assure you that I’ll be that one friend you can count on. Thank you for always being you, and letting me do me. Most people will never get how we clicked, but none of that matters does it? Thank you.

You’ve always been my trainer. From my freshman days, you always kept at it. Almost like you were making another you. I rebelled once cause I didn’t want to be you, and honestly I still don’t want to be. I want to be me. Yes, you were right. I’m your successor and trust me you left BIG shoes to fill. I know you want me to do a better job than you ever did, and I pray I don’t let you down. Thank you for everything you ever taught me,but most of all,thanks for being my friend. I wish I had learnt more. I was scared at first, but I know you believe in me just like many others and that gives me the confidence to charge and face this challenge. I’ll do you proud. You can count on that.

I write for a lot of people, but you’re the only one who has ever written for me. We’re so alike it scares me. Each day, I find out something about myself that I complained about with you. Funny right? Guess that’s what makes us connect. I just wish you could be all you have been called to be cause you’re more than all you claim to be. I see it every time. You’re my favourite “sister”. We’re all striving towards perfection, I’m not there yet too BUT when we’re surrounded by people who love us, there’s no limit to what we can do. You’re a great person even though you drive me crazy some times. I can talk to you about anything and you’ll understand. You, my dear, are irreplaceable.

If I called you my best friend, I wouldn’t be wrong. But I don’t know how you’d feel about that seeing as you’re very prudent and discrete while dishing out such honours. But hey, who cares about a title anyway? I got you. I’ll could be called your acquaintance or the girl across the block for all that matters if I still have the friendship we share. You’re a great person. You make me laugh all the time. We sigh together, use the dumbest slangs together, make fun of each other and tell each other the truth. What more do we need? Maybe you need more. Maybe. But you’ve been more than a friend to me. I would never have guessed that we would be this close, but hey God always knows what He’s doing. Thank you for being a wonderful person and friend.

*sigh*
Another set of tributes.
Well-deserved.
*taking a bow*

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Tinuola says:

    I am crying in the studio! Rolayo see what you have done!!
    *cries some more and laughs….

  2. bukky maj says:

    beautiful piece.didnt c d love option so i clicked like.lol. Dat song brought nice memories to.keep it up dear.u r goin places.

  3. Mak'Omondi says:

    The end quote, this is the second place I am seeing it in a span of 24 hours. Somebody must be speaking to me

Leave a Reply

