Happy Birthday Grandma


A lot of people may not understand
Many of you have grandparents and even great-grandparents who lived till they were over a century
So why am I making such a fuss about a 75year old grandparent?
I’ll say it in two words
“I’m thankful”

A lot of times, I want to remember her as the agile woman who made special soups for pounded yam, but couldn’t eat out of it cause of her health
I remember her always wanting me to sleep in her room during holidays no matter how many of her grandchildren were around
I remember those wigs she wore under her head-gear to church
And her shop that we always raided during christmas
Taking different drinks and biscuits
She would write bills and give them to our mothers at the end of the holidays
I miss that woman

I remember the day Mummy called me to say you had suffered a stroke
Since then, you’ve never been able to remember my name
“Funke” is what you’ve named me
It was my turn to do for you what you couldn’t do for yourself
I remember last year too
How night after night for three weeks, I would go and see you in the wards
Sometimes with friends, sometimes alone
How we all prayed for you to stay with us
We really didn’t think you would make it
But you did Grandma
You’re a survivor

When I tell stories of you to my own grandchildren, I want to remember you as Grandma Akure
The woman who even in her old age, has a complexion none of us can match up to
The woman who birthed eight wonderful children, and all of them turned out successful
My grandma who, though weak and frail, still hugs me tight and whose eyes brighten up at the sound of my voice
God has kept you for us
We are grateful.
Happy Birthday Grandma
We love you and we cherish you.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. bukkymaj says:

    happy birthday to grandma.may u always av reasons to be joyful over ur children and grandchildren.and we shal nt lose u b4 ur time.amen.

  2. Rony says:

    This is Emotional, Rolly.
    Happy Birthday Maami, and Many more years in sound health. Loads of love.

  3. Bimpe Modder says:

    Love to you and maami. a lovely piece Rolly.

Leave a Reply

