The One Who God has shown Mercy


I had an internal debate on how this post should go

Vulnerable or Heartfelt?

I will let you decide the category.

It’s almost midnight on the 1st anniversary of the birth of my daughter

And for me, it marks the end of many things;

A tumultuous year yet my best year

An exhausting year yet a rewarding year

For this child we prayed…

I learnt faith this year

I say “learnt” because what I thought I had and called faith wasn’t even scratching the surface

It took faith to conceive

It took faith to believe I had conceived

It took faith to birth the child weeks before we had anticipated

It took faith to go through the days that came after

Days that turned to weeks

It took faith to not lose it when we got home and I realized I really didn’t know what I was doing

It took faith to smile again

It took faith when the doctors told us

It took faith when the symptoms began to show

It took faith when we kept it together,

Living, loving, praising, worshipping

Believing

That HE who has called us is more than able

Reaffirming

The Word we had been taught over the years, the Word that had become the basis of our entire existence

*pauses to shed happy tears*

The devil tried but He failed

We have scars

And that’s okay

Scars are okay

Scars are the evidence of the battles we fought and won

Scars help us to never forget

That what we have received is mercy

What He gives is abundant grace

To my daughter,

Thank you for teaching me who God is

I have experienced Him in another dimension because of you

A lot is happening now and you won’t remember

But we will tell you all about it

I love you

Thank you for giving a new meaning to my life ❤️

Happy birthday my T!

Because we have a Father, our case is different and He is the one taking care of you!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ayo Williams Titilayo Olufunke says:

    A good tes

  2. Happy birthday to Tiwayato. Beautiful write-up Rolly. Motherhood! Adulthood! Nothing truly prepares you, but because we have a loving father who honours his words, it gives us covering. Wear the scar of victory with pride. Much love .

Leave a comment