My Brother’s Keeper


I spotted him the moment I walked into the restaurant,

His dressing and over-sized flip-flops gave him an unkempt appearance,

I approached the counter to place my order,

“Jollof rice, a bowl of salad and two pieces of chicken please.”

“What drink ma?”

“Water. Ordinary water.”

From the corner of my eye, I saw him coming towards me,

His gestures were pleading,

I held my purse closer and ensured my phone was secure,

This is Lagos.

“Aunty,please buy food for me. I am very hungry. Please.”

I looked his way and looked away immediately,

It wasn’t the first time I was hearing this type of plea,

There were many beggars littered everywhere – traffic stops, car parks, malls and now,restaurants,

They were constant reminders of the hardship the country was facing,

My food was served and after paying, I picked up my tray and found a table.

I kept my eyes on him,

Watching him as he begged customer after customer,

Like me, they all ignored him and went about their business,

All except one,

She came in with her toddler who she couldn’t get to stand still,

She was placing her order when the boy approached her again,

She turned to him and asked what he would like,

I expected him to ask for chicken or rice and a drink,

But he held on to a loaf of bread,

Just bread.

The woman paid and left enough change for the loaf of bread,

She picked her order and her toddler and found an empty table.

The boy picked the loaf of bread, found another table and started to eat

I felt the ice around my heart melt,

When did I become this person who lacked empathy and couldn’t feed a hungry boy?

I tapped my husband and told him what I had noticed,

He stood up and bought the boy a drink.

“Please have it with the bread.”, he said,

The boy nodded his thanks.

My food lost its taste in my mouth,

I was ashamed of myself,

For letting the fear of being robbed or swindled get the better of me,

For forgetting that I was to be a blessing at all times and to all men,

I watched him eat his bread and down his drink ,

He ate just enough to probably regain his strength,

He tied up the bread nylon and covered the drink tightly,

He looked towards our table, bowed and said “Thank you”,

Then he did same to the woman with the toddler.

He walked out of the restaurant with the rest of the loaf of bread and more than half a bottle of drink,

Probably to share with siblings that were also too hungry to beg,

Or he was saving it for the next day when hunger came knocking.

I stayed up later that night, thinking about this boy,

About how the system had failed him,

How humanity had let him down,

How he had to resort to begging strangers for a loaf of bread, without water.

I wished in my heart that I could do more for him,

I prayed for forgiveness,

And I prayed for the boy,

That my heavenly Father would send him ravens like He did to Elijah,

And the next time I see a hungry person, I would care more about my neighbor than my earthly possessions.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. It’s sad thinking of the number of young people who suffer around us. My prayer is that more people begin to take responsibility and do the little they can for them.

  2. Oluwatoyin says:

    May we always remember that we are blessed to be a blessing to others! I’m also guilty of this
    Nice write up Morolayo

Leave a comment